Dan Meyer Intro

It feels mandatory to share this brief intro I gave for Dan’s keynote at the SUM Conference this year. If you weren’t paying attention to twitter last Thursday, I sent out a polite request for “information” to use about Dan in my intro. What followed was one of the greater showings of twitter hilarity – unless of course you’re Dan – and something I’ll certainly keep in my archives for days when I need a little pick me up and videos of puppies falling over aren’t cutting it. If you haven’t checked out #danmeyerfacts yet, you’ll want to get on that. Dan was a prince about the whole thing and joked right along with me afterwards that the audience could now really only be sure of one thing, that his name is in fact Dan Meyer. So thanks to the twitterverse, you folks certainly never disappoint and you can always be counted on to take a joke way too far! (See also, @sarcasymptote and Air Bud jokes. Never gets old.)

Welcome. This morning I have the pleasure of introducing our first keynote, Dan Meyer, to you all. As I do when I need to do anything important, I turned to twitter for help in writing this introduction. And this is what I received:

Dan Meyer can reach all the shores in Konigsberg without crossing any bridges.

Dan Meyer only needs three colours for his maps.

Dan Meyer can do all of Euclid’s proofs with only 3 axioms.

Dan Meyer has the general formula to the quintic function tatooed on his bicep.

Dan Meyer can divide by zero.

Fermat saved his margins for writing about Dan Meyer.

Dan Meyer predicted what Nat Silver’s forcast would be.

And a true one: Dan Meyer holds the record for for most paper clips chained together in 24 hours.

Dan I taught high school math between 2004 and 2010 and is currently studying at Stanford University on a doctoral fellowship. Dan has appeared on CNN, TED.com, Rachel Ray and Good Morning America and was named one of Tech & Learning’s 30 leaders of the future. But when I think of Dan, I really think to someone who is out championing for teachers. Dan’s specific interests include curriculum design (answering the question, “how we design the ideal learning experience for students?”) and teacher education (answering the questions, “how do teachers learn?” “how do we retain more teachers?” and “how do we teach teachers to teach?”). Dan is behind the the websites 101Qs, and the ensuing larger 3Act movement, Graphing Stories, and the conference website Math Recap. Dan seems to spend all of his free time sharing the work of great teachers and promoting the teaching profession. Maybe the best thing about Dan is that he calls his session attendees (and likely his former students) chuckleheads. I’m so excited to be able to welcome Dan here this morning.

*For the record, the end bit is pretty much stolen word for word off Dan’s own websites. As per usual, nothing original to see here.

Leave a Reply

